Working Class Movement Library

A blog from the Working Class Movement Library in Salford

Notes from a new volunteer

Posted by wcmlibrary on January 18, 2010

After my first day last Thursday as a volunteer (which I really enjoyed) I discovered, cleaning books in the Thomas Paine Room, that there is nothing new under the sun –  in a book from 1794 I discovered that the House of Commons and the House of Lords were discussing members’ expenses, members’ corruption and war expenses!

I would also like to pass on something I discovered in the book called ‘Secret Committee of the House of Commons and the House of Lords’,  1794.  This book once belonged to a man called Henry D Byng and it said:

This book belongs to

Henry D Byng

If thou art borrowed by a friend

Right welcome shall he be

To read to study – not to lend

But to return to me.

Not that imparted knowledge doth

Diminish learning’s store.

But books I find if often lent

Return to me no more.

Read slowly, pause frequently

Think seriously

Keep dearly, return duly

With the  corners of the leaves not turned down!

What a wonderful way to start reading a borrowed book!  If this keeps up I’m sure I am really going to enjoy my time as a volunteer cleaning books in the Thomas Paine Room! Thanks so much for allowing me to do this!

Marjorie

Leave a Reply

 
